Log in Subscribe

Award Recipients Honored At Chamber of Commerce Event


The Mountain View Area Chamber of Commerce held its first banquet in two years March 3, with a sold-out crowd at The Skillet restaurant.

Chamber President Michelle Atchison introduced the new slate of directors for the coming year. Atchison will continue as president for one more year. The 2022 directors are: Pam Setser, Buffy Campbell, Contessa May, Callie Taylor, Kathleen Pitts, Chris Smith, Lee Ann Thomas, Bud Thurman, Darla Branton, Jody Smotherman, Greg Peters and Jessica Sterlin.

Chamber Director Rianna Kendrick introduced the chamber volunteers and presented the Von Dean Jeffery Award to Darla Branton.

The Bill Young Award winner was Sue Gammill, introduced by Robbie Purdom and recognized for her many years of service to the community.

Rianna Kendrick presented the Chamber’s top award, the Distinguished Citizen Award, to Jim and Sandy Qualls, and then presented the President’s Award to Michelle Atchison.

Because award recipients had been chosen but no banquet was held in 2020, awards were presented to Mary Jane Allen for the 2020 Distinguished Citizen and Karen Avey for the 2020 Bill Young Award.

Past President Buffy Campbell was also recognized for her service.

Other activities included a silent auction fundraiser.

Mountain View Area Chamber of Commerce, Stone County Leader


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here