Log in Subscribe

Local Nominees Among ACMA List

Voting Ends March 14


Several local and regionally known musical personalities are in the running for this year’s Arkansas Country Music Awards. Voting at the website arkansasmusic.org/vote begins March 1.

Arkansas Country Music Awards, Inc. is a non-profit entity aimed at cultivating the music of the Natural State since 2018.

Awards honor independent recording artists/performers in country music and other genres that fall under the country music umbrella, including bluegrass and Americana.

The nomination process allows anyone to nominate their favorite artists, songwriter, instrumentalist, music venue, and more.

Nominations closed January 21 and voting runs March 1-14. The awards event is scheduled for June 7 at University of Central Arkansas in Conway.

This year’s nominees include Grace Stormont and Pam Setser, both nominated for Americana Artist of the Year; Grace Stormont for Inspirational Artist of the Year, Female Vocalist of the Year, and Acoustic Act of the Year; Lillyanne McCool for Young Artist of the Year; Irl Hees for Bass Player of the Year; Charley Sandage for Songwriter of the Year; and Joannie Howell for Promoter of the Year. Stormont is also nominated for Song of the Year with “On Your Own.”

Billy Don Burns is nominated for Album of the Year with “The Country Blues,” an album produced by Charlie Ammerman, Thomas Gramuglia, Billy Don Burns, Jeff Williams, Mike Randolph and Aaron Dethrage.

Other nominees of note in local music circles are Cory Jackson, nominated for Male Vocalist of the Year; and Tim Crouch, nominated for Music Producer of the Year, and Fiddle Player of the Year.

From the Feb. 17, 2021 issue.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here